AAS Australasian Arachnological Society

Identification of Pararchaeid Spiders (Pararchaeidae)

(compiled by Michael G. Rix)

The Pararchaeidae are now known from thirty-four described species, after the recently published taxonomic revisions of Rix (2005, 2006). These species are placed in seven genera, two of which are endemic to New Zealand, with the remaining five genera all found on the Australian mainland. Three species are found in New Zealand, seven species are known from Tasmania, and 25 species have been described from Queensland, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia and Western Australia. For keys to the identification of all described species and genera see Rix (2006) and Rix (2005) for the Tasmanian fauna.


Rix, M. G. (2005). A review of the Tasmanian species of Pararchaeidae and Holarchaeidae (Arachnida, Araneae). The Journal of Arachnology 33: 135-152.

Rix, M. G. (2006). Systematics of the Australsian spider family Parachaeidae (Arachnida: Araneae). Invertebrate Systematics 20: 203-254.

reference: AAS – Australasian Arachnological Society
online: http://www.australasian-arachnology.org/identification/id-araneae/id-pararchaeidae/
©2005 AAS – date: 2008/12/05

change fontsize
increase fontsize decrease fontsize
print document